Our Journey to Wellness


Do you ever feel like you just NEVER are truly healthy? That no matter what you try or do, someone in your house is always sick? Or maybe you’re always tired & just can’t lose weight? You can’t get things done, you’re turning in circles, life is on repeat?

Wow, I did. I do. I have.

This spring I was finally & truly fed up. I vowed to make some changes. I needed to lose weight, to finally get those pesky baby pounds off my back! It’s not that I was obese. Honestly, I just had not been able to lose the baby weight from my last child. He’s 5. I was frustrated.

IMG_4672

I want to say, I have been fed up long before now. But with 2 small children, homeschooling, doing my various volunteer work, housekeeping, cooking, etc., personal time has evaded me for years. I’d do the Wii Fit, then the small boy child would climb all over me while I tried to balance on one foot. or the larger girl child would join in, get too close, & get punched during my faux-tennis match, then cry hysterically until I stopped. Exercising at home obviously wasn’t in the cards for me. (and a Y or gym membership wasn’t in the budget!) Every time I would get on an evening ‘me-time’ walking or jogging streak, it would rain for days on end or the schedules would go against me, thus killing my streak & effectively my exercise habit.

triathlon day!I needed to exercise more, but most things I enjoy I couldn’t do because of my worn-out knee. I began swimming more regularly this summer, doing laps & really making an effort. I even did a mini-triathlon for my daughter’s swim team. But did I lose weight? NO!

I thought I had just hit that magical age of 40-something when the weight becomes very stubborn to leave. I was at the point of “Do I just succumb and admit that I will be a “well-padded” mom like my grandma was,” or do I find something entirely new. I went for the entirely new.

I had already begun using essential oils to optimize my health. (Read more about that part of the journey here!) I needed to add the component of diet to the mix.

I have not been able to really ‘diet’ for years. When I reduce caloric consumption I become grouchy. VERY GROUCHY.  Like “you-don’t-want-to-be-around-me” grouchy. Then there’s the fearsome “I’m-much-too-mean-to-my-kids, especially-during-the-homeschool-day” grouchy. So a standard “diet” did not work for me. My husband is diabetic. My daughter verges on ADD. My son eats PB &J for almost every meal. We needed a food style change.

We didn’t eat horribly. We were pretty healthy overall. We had veggies at almost every meal, salads frequently, lean protein, not lots of junk. We usually eat in. But still we have these issues! I wasn’t losing weight, but I wasn’t gaining either. The kids are healthy, but Joey really wanted a way to take less insulin, since the costs are through the roof.

This summer, a friend invited me to an info session for Trim Healthy Mama. I had heard vaguely of this plan on FB, didn’t have a clue what it was, but her timing was perfect. A group of homeschool moms who all want to lose weight, I figured at least there will be accountability!  What did I have to lose, besides weight? or a little cash?  The meeting was led by a THM successful friend who was going to try to explain her weight loss secrets to us all. I had not even laid eyes on the book yet, so S, E, FP was a big mystery to me & I asked a LOT of questions. It sounded interesting, real food based, “You can bake, you can eat cheese, you can eat steak!” Sounded good to me.

I jumped in, about a month later, after my book came & I had time to read it. I’ve been mostly on the downhill trend since then. A few small bobbles here and there, adjustments as we go, and even over the holidays.. no gain!

IMG_6324Finally, I feel like I have found something that has worked!

Since I have found success, (30 pounds gone from Aug-Jan!) I want to be able to give back a little to the THM community. I would say I fall in between the drive-thru-Sue and the Crunchy Granola but I am definitely NOT a purist. I do quick and easy, and sometimes I get it right. Sometimes I don’t, (and I don’t even know it). But I don’t stress over it, I mostly freestyle within my comfort zone. If you’re new… you have no comfort zone, I realize, so I’ll try to share my success with some tips.

Next I’ll share my 13 easy steps to menu planning THM-style! & as the week goes by, I’ll share my favorite go-to recipes. THM doesn’t have to be hard. It doesn’t have to break the bank. You do have to trust the plan & love yourself enough not to cheat. The cheats matter.

God doesn’t want us to be unhealthy. He shows us the way, continually, if we just allow him to. Had I turned my back on my friend’s invite, only God knows where I would be. But I didn’t. I trusted the still small voice saying.. “Just go!” and went. & then the voice said “Just try!” and I did. & here we are.

Psalm 18: 20-28  summarizes Our Journey to Wellness (so far) perfectly.

God made my life complete when I placed all the pieces before him. When I got my act together, He gave me a fresh start. Now I’m alert to God’s ways; I don’t take God for granted. Every day I review the ways He works; I try not to miss a trick. I feel put back together, and I’m watching my step. God rewrote the text of my life when I opened the book of my heart to His eyes.

The good people taste your goodness, The whole people taste your health, The true people taste your truth, The bad ones can’t figure you out. You take the side of the down-and-out, But the stuck-up you take down a peg.

Suddenly, God, you floodlight my life; I’m blazing with glory, God’s glory!

I hope and pray that you too, can blaze with all the glory God intended for you! Place your life’s pieces before Him, & allow him to lead you each step of the way. Taste His goodness, & the goodness of His earth! Enjoy eating & lose weight!

God Bless!

Shira

shi selfie

One comment on “Our Journey to Wellness

Leave a Reply

