We have empty chairs, and that’s okay…

At church last night we were given the opportunity to light a candle in Honor of our Loved Ones, basically telling us we should be having a hard time with grief this season. Then church this morning was about how God is good and faithful, even in tough times. Thus a simple statement from me, trying to summarize my emotions and thoughts in response.

I love my kids, the ones here and the ones not. I miss them. I know I will see them and share eternity with them. With that clear truth in mind, is it bad to enjoy the time I have here with those He has left in my care, without guilt and without tears?  Yes, I wish we had them here, but God knows what He is doing. I have faith in that. He is good all the time, all the time He is good.

Here is the thing…Christmas is NO easier or harder than ANY day spent without our loved ones. That is the truth.
EVERY day is hard, because every day we remember the simple fact that their chair at the table is empty. Every single day.

I don’t begrudge people their happy healthy kids or big families. I’m happy that they are happy. I’m just a tiny bit jealous, that their happy reality is not MY life.

But don’t quit being happy because I am sometimes sad. That is not my point. Be happy, I am happy. I am happy because of the Hope that begins at Christmas with Christ’s birth. That Hope is fulfilled in His death at Easter. Where Hope becomes Faith in a resurrected body that will become eternal through Christ.

I am happy with my life, most of the time. I just have empty chairs at my table that will one day be filled. I’ll see my children again, those blonde curls, those shining blue eyes & they will be all the more perfect in Heaven.

Life is not for the here & now but for the eternal. Without the birth of our Savior, there would be no death. Without His death, there could be no resurrection. Without resurrection, there can be no eternal life.

Read more in John 3:16-18 (MSG)

“This is how much God loved the world: He gave his Son, his one and only Son. And this is why: so that no one need be destroyed; by believing in him, anyone can have a whole and lasting life.”

There was a plan. There IS a plan, that is still being enacted. We should all have the faith that it WILL work out. Someday we’ll see the reasons why, until then, I choose happiness for myself and for my family, and for yours too, knowing God loves the world, and He loves all of us in it too.

Merry Christmas, friends! God bless us everyone!

Leave a Reply

