Fighting the Battle

the battle is not ours

Well, well, well. I suppose I need to eat my words from the other day, but yesterday was a pretty good day of homeschooling! (I did not have time last night to post, but forgive me, I was in a state of bliss and wanted to enjoy it!)

We actually finished school by 11 am! Yes, you read that correctly! We were done BEFORE lunch! It is only about the 2nd time since we started homeschooling last fall that we have actually had a pre-lunch finish time. Amazing. Why? You ask. What was different? You ask. How DID you do it?  You ask.

Let me tell you! It was not my fabulous motivational skills. It was not any fancy medication. It was merely a small bribe of going to spend the afternoon with Grammy and Papa, but ONLY if she finished her work before Grammy came (intending to get the younger child). Then, ONLY if Grammy said it was okay, could she switch, and have the one-on-one playdate reserved for her little brother.

What motivation! She worked, she sat, she read, she did her math in 10 minutes! Wow! It is amazing what she can accomplish in a short time if she is motivated and willing. A few distractible moments were quickly stifled by the warning… “No Grammy if you don’t finish!”  She got thru the whole day’s guide in less than 2 1/2 hours (except for her independent reading).  I was impressed! She brought her reading to Grammy’s and they read about Christopher Columbus together, giving me a bit of a break!  It was a nice and peaceful afternoon with the little one alone!

I must say, after my last ranting (see: The Ugly Homeschool), I spent some quality time with the Lord in prayer.  I have been praying Psalm 6 over our homeschooling, and will continue to do so until these growing pains are lessened! I do believe it is helping, today was a much smoother day as well, though not as smooth and easy as yesterday, we did get a lot done, and even had time for art! Yay! (I’ll talk more about the ins and outs of the days and our curriculum on the other pages).

I’d like to share Psalm 6, in the Message version, with those of you who need some encouragement in your homeschooling day. This really spoke directly to the heart of my soul last week, so perhaps it will help you as well.

Psalm 6

 

Please, God, no more yelling,
    

     no more trips to the woodshed.


Treat me nice for a change;
    

      I’m so starved for affection.

 

Can’t you see I’m black-and-blue,
    

     beat up badly in bones and soul?


God, how long will it take


     for you to let up?

 

Break in, God, and break up this fight;
   

     if you love me at all, get me out of here.


I’m no good to you dead, am I?
 

     I can’t sing in your choir if I’m buried in some tomb!

 

I’m tired of all thisso tired.

     My bed
 has been floating forty days and nights


On the flood of my tears.
    

     My mattress is soaked, soggy with tears.


The sockets of my eyes are black holes;
   

      nearly blind, I squint and grope.

 

Get out of here, you Devil’s crew:
    

     at last God has heard my sobs.


My requests have all been granted,
    

     my prayers are answered.

 

Cowards, my enemies disappear.

     Disgraced, they turn tail and run.

Wow! When I found this, it was as if I had written it.  Isn’t it amazing when God speaks so directly to our hearts?  I was feeling so black-and-blue, so beat up by this process, so tired of the fighting!  Reading this I saw clearly that the fight was not between myself and my daughter, but between the Devil’s crew and God’s Angel Armies.

I truly believe that the enemy does all he can to squelch our desire to homeschool (at least he does to me) by giving excuses, making extreme challenges, creating paperwork nightmares, and forging discord in general.  I suppose we are an easy target for him, working to spread the Word into the hearts of our children, talking about God daily and purposefully, making it clear to the world that we are following His path.

 

That’s right — you don’t go off on your own; 

     You walk straight along the road He set. Psalm 119: 3

I just need to remember DAILY that I am NOT on my own, I am walking on HIS road, that HE set in place for US!  And I know full well from my hiking & geocaching experiences that going off the path can lead to disaster (and a nasty case of poison ivy!).

So after finding Psalm 6, I spent some quality time praying it over and over. Then, I added my new favorite song into my devotions, Whom Shall I Fear? [God of Angel Armies], by Chris Tomlin.

A snippet of those lyrics…

Whom shall I fear? 

You crushed the Enemy 

Underneath my feet

You are my sword and shield 

No troubles linger still

Whom shall I fear?

 

I know who goes before me, 

I know who stands behind.

The God-of-Angel-Armies is always by my side.

The One who reigns forever,

He is a friend of mine.

The God-of-Angel-Armies is always by my side.

 

And NOTHING formed against me shall stand

You hold the whole world in your hands.

I’m holding on to your promises.

You are faithful, You are faithful… 

I just need to remember to stay centered on the road He has set before me. To feel the presence of the One who goes before me, and the One who stands behind. The One who is my Sword and my Shield. The One who reigns forever, who is a friend of mine. He wants us to thrive, and I must believe that we are succeeding, otherwise the Devil and his crew wouldn’t be fighting so hard to overtake us.  I choose to battle them, NO wait! I claim the knowledge that the One God and His Angel Armies, will battle FOR me. He is faithful, and NOTHING formed against me shall stand!

Whew!

That is overwhelming to imagine, the unseen realms fighting over our little-bitty, brand-new homeschool.  I feel immensely loved and treasured to know it matters that much to God, and to the Devil, that they BATTLE over us.

I pray that you also will find this to be the case for your homeschool and life, because He battles for you as much as He does for us! You can pray the words of Psalm 6 and find hope: 

 

“Get out of here, you Devil’s crew:

     at last God has heard my sobs.

My requests have all been granted

     my prayers are answered.

Cowards, my enemies disappear.

     Disgraced, they turn tail and run.”

 

I pray that this knowledge will bring you the undeniable sense of hope and peace it brings me!

God and His Angel Armies fight for YOU!

 Shira

Leave a Reply

