We Did It!

trust leaf

Well, after a day filled with computer chaos, we are officially a homeschool! It was obvious from the start this morning that this was NOT what the enemy was wanting, and he was going out of his way to make it difficult for me to fill out my application online.

Our main computer crashed, perhaps for good yesterday, and so I am working on an ancient eMac the kids use… old, out of date, shaky, but better than the ‘will not even turn on right now’ desktop. But it is so old, I cannot print from it, so I am scrambling to find a way to print and fax the required documents. I searched a good part of Saturday to find my diplomas, and this morning could not find Joey’s again! Then I find them and can’t copy them… I am out of ink! Finally getting them copied, e-mailing the link to my dad to print, running to his house, to Joey’s work to fax, then having fax issues… what a mess! But it went through, we got our official school number (along with a do not delete this e-mail you will not get another!… but I can’t print it…agh!) so we are official!

But, let me rewind a bit… Besides the paperwork proving you have at least a high school diploma, another major step in setting up a homeschool is picking a name… what exciting pressure! But you cannot change it, once chosen, you are stuck with it til you close your homeschool or your kids graduate!

I wanted to be sure the name was right, so I have been spending some time in The Word, looking for His direction on what we should call ourselves. I began by following the advice of a recently purchased plaque showing Proverbs 3:5-6:

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart
and lean not on your own understanding.
In all your ways acknowledge Him,
and He shall direct your path.”

So my reading this past weekend has centered on the word PATH and I was a bit awed at how many times the Bible uses the word, usually to say “God will direct our path,” “God will make our paths straight,” or “The way of the fool is a crooked path.” I felt that as we have chosen this somewhat winding and perhaps challenging path for our lives that it is truly HIS directions which we are following.

The other word I have been led to is WAY. “He will direct our ways” seems to be about as frequent as “He will direct our paths”… contemplating on the different nuances of meaning led me to a reference to Jeremiah 6:16:

“This is what the LORD says:
          “Stand at the crossroads and look:
               ask for the ancient paths,
               ask where the good way is, and walk in it,
               and you will find rest for your souls.”

This was the exact verse God had shown me months ago when in prayer over whether or not to homeschool! How amazing is our God! When we forget, He doesn’t. He reminds us loud and clear.

Going back and forth between Good way, Good path, God’s way, God’s Path, Nature’s Way, I was struggling. I almost settled on Nature’s Way Academy, not saying out loud but instead whispering quietly that God is nature and we are following his way… But while Googling some of these options, I was unsettled. Many of these names were associated with holistic healing, vitamins, or other things.

Even after all the readings on God directing my path, I was still wavering on whether or not to check the box that said we are choosing to do this for religious reasons, almost settling on not (and hearing the enemy giggle with joy). But reading my Prov. 3:6 plaque again “In ALL your ways acknowledge HIM”, He made it clear that I must let our light shine, rather than hide it under a bushel. Our homeschool needs to acknowledge Him in both choosing to be a religious based school, and in the naming of the school.

A little more Googling and the name was clearly shown to me: God’s Path School: GPS. We as a family love to Geocache, (following nature trails using our GPS to find small treasures.) It just seemed to fit perfectly. Then God’s Path School became GPS became God’s Positioning System… I love it! Because that is what we are truly doing… following God’s Positioning System to lead us on the path He has laid out for our lives to find His Eternal Treasures! And what IS God’s Positioning System? The BIBLE, of course!

So out loud I say the words of Psalm 119:35:

“Direct me in the path of your commands, for there I find delight.”

Welcome to Our GPS Blog, where I hope we (and you) will find rest for your souls! May our homeschool be blessed, our path clear, and our hearts joyful, as in ALL our ways we acknowledge His Word as our true GPS while we store up our treasures in Heaven.

Shira

(originally written 7/30/2012)

Leave a Reply

